Reflections of the Solstice (1991) By xDemoNx

This is the first full-length album of Goatlord, a band from the U.S.A. formed in 1985 and nowadays spit-up. At first I noticed the very nice cover: black and white, evil and oldshcool. In this album the band plays dark oldschool metal, Doom-tempo with many thrashy influences. Raw, slow, heavy Doom-Death metal with some Thrashy parts. The guitars are heavy, primitive, not very techniques but they attribute to the atmosphere that the band wants to produce. The bass-lines follows and add to guitars in these rotten Doom paces. Unfortunately, the drums suck in every aspect because on one hand the drummer plays like someone who just started drums lessons. His inexperience and inflexibility of his style of play appears in every track. On the other hand, the sound of drums is empty and shallow. The Death-Black vocals create a great atmosphere from the start. The lyrics deal with Satanic rituals, sacrifices and blasphemy. The production has the atmosphere of the era of the recording and the horror atmosphere that the band wanted to produce. In general, the production in if you make an exception about the bad sound of the drums and I would prefer the sound of the bass to be more high. The tracks I liked the most are: Acid Orgy, Sacrifice and Voodoo Mass. Reflection of the Solstice is a very good album if you can ignore the miserable drums.

Reflections of the Solstice (1991) By ScorchedEarth

Goatlord was a blackened doom metal band from Nevada whose lyrics involved occult themes. Their music is based entirely around creating atmosphere and dark emotions. The mostly slow-paced songs on Reflections of the Solstice reach this goal, giving the listener a feeling of darkness and blasphemy. Unfortunately, the drums on this album are quite poorly mixed, particularly the toms. They stand out above the rest of the music and can be quite distracting. Although in some places, particularly Voodoo Mass the strangely out of place tom drums add to the dreadful atmosphere of the music. Goatlord combine death, doom and black metal to create a classic of USBM, an excellent album for fans of both black and doom metal.

1. Blood Monk 05:53
2. Distorted Birth 06:58
3. The Fog 06:55
4. Underground Church 04:34
5. Chicken Dance 03:50
6. Acid Orgy 05:42
7. Possessed Soldiers of War 05:17
8. Sacrifice 04:20